Do you update immediately?

Webmaster Forums, Forum Promotion, SEO, Domain Names, Hosting & More!

AdminBrave is a community with useful content and resources. Connect with fellow webmasters. Grow your network. Stay informed. Learn and share with us!

    Thread Owner: Lammchen
  • #1
Lammchen

Lammchen

Valued Member
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
202
My craft forum has an update available but I have been too busy to take care of it. When you see updates to your forum software do you do it immediately? What's the longest you've let it go and were still secure?
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
If it is a security update, don't take much time. Developers often feel that it is an open invitation to get hacked.

But I have seen immediate updates can be bad. Break the site as a whole because the update itself had a bug. So an optimal shelf time won't hurt either.

And last but not least, Backups all the way.
 
J

Jason

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
638
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
1,436
I will first go through the update log to see what is the update about. If it is an security patch and i will update it immediately else maybe later.
 
admin

admin

Community Leader
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
75
Points
48
AB$
4,565
> @Jason If it is an security patch and i will update it immediately

Nice move
 
J

Jason

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
638
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
1,436
@admin Good that Woltlab shows the update available in the forum suite itself, once it does i go to the site to see the log. Then i will do the update.
 
S

StormyFire

Valued Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
121
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
422
I usually update fairly promptly unless I hear that there is an issue with the latest version. ^^
 
S

Sharon

Valued Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2021
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
276
I am so paranoid about messing things up due to the fact that I am not very tech savvy that I don't usually do software updates unless I'm required to.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Similar threads

Icefrost
Replies
0
Views
27
Icefrost
Icefrost
J
Replies
11
Views
590
admin
admin
Top