Can translation improve visitor interaction

Webmaster Forums, Forum Promotion, SEO, Domain Names, Hosting & More!

AdminBrave is a community with useful content and resources. Connect with fellow webmasters. Grow your network. Stay informed. Learn and share with us!

Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
I was thinking this for some time. English, while is comfortable to a lot of people, there is a much bigger crowd who fail to grasp when we use English as the only language on our website.

Do you offer your CMS in languages other than English ? Is it a good idea ?
 
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
@Abhi with tools like Google translate which can be used also as an extension in the browser, no.
 
admin

admin

Community Leader
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
75
Points
48
AB$
4,565
> @phenomlab which can be used also as an extension in the browser

Is it ? That last I checked it is almost impossible to translate a page in Firefox. But it works very well in Chrome.

 
Last edited:
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
@admin Firefox has it's own translation extension I think.
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
Tried the Addon store. Firefox's recommended addon has only text translate feature


> To Google Translate by Juan Escobar

> Recommended
>
> Right-click on a section of text and click on Translate icon next to it to translate or listen it to your language.

But there is on addon which offers to translate the whole page and also supports Bing Translate

> Google Translate, ImTranslator, Dictionary, TTS by Smart Link Corporation
>
> COMPLETELY REDESIGNED TRANSLATOR FOR FIREFOX

> ImTranslator translates text, words, webpages between more than 100 languages.

> NEW: Inline Translator, Dictionary, access to Google Translate, Microsoft Translator. Unique on the fly localization.

> Add to Firefox

> Extension Metadata
>
> This is not monitored for security through Mozilla's Recommended Extensions program. Make sure you trust it before installing.

But is not supported by Firefox. I hate to use plugins which has no recommendation on my browser. Feels a bit insecure.
 
admin

admin

Community Leader
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
75
Points
48
AB$
4,565
It is sad that Google no longer supports this officially on Firefox. There are still lakhs if not crores of Firefox users who would like to try this feature.

That brings us back to the topic. Would actually need a translation for your CMS. My personal preference if `Yes`.
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
> @admin My personal preference if Yes.

Why would you say that ?
 
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
@Abhi probably to attract and retain new readers and members from countries outside of your domicile. Google searches will present results to users in the language they requested, so I suppose it's only fair for visits to expect that same language to be available when they visit.
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
How many languages can we offer in a CMS ? Phones offer a lot. But I haven't seen forum offer many. Facebook somehow detected my local language and is now showing it in that language. I would have preferred English though.
 
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
> @Abhi How many languages can we offer in a CMS ? Phones offer a lot. But I haven't seen forum offer many. Facebook somehow detected my local language and is now showing it in that language. I would have preferred English though.

WordPress sites for example have the ability to include multiple languages by virtue of plugins.
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
Do you mean translate WordPress text strings ? I have never tried it before. Then there will be an option in the front end to choose the website language where **Menu** will replace by **Speisekarte** if we choose German ?
 
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
@Abhi if you are looking to translate text springs, you can use the loco plugin from WordPress
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
> @phenomlab ability to include multiple languages by virtue of plugins.

Do you mean content translation ? As a person who has involved in the translation process, I can tell you that translated content are poorly worded in most cases. They fail miserably in certain style of writing. Auto translate has a long way to go. You can first auto-translate the content and get someone to make it useable for you.
 
Last edited:
admin

admin

Community Leader
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
75
Points
48
AB$
4,565
> @Abhi Why would you say that ?

A wide variety of people cannot read / understand English. If you give them an interface in their language, they will be regular and you can win a few good members who are thankful to you.
 
Abhi

Abhi

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
4,326
Reaction score
100
Points
63
AB$
11,851
A lot of feature phone now comes with support for local languages. And such phones are doing well in market. I get the point. A native language UI is a plus.
 
admin

admin

Community Leader
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
75
Points
48
AB$
4,565
That is the whole point of it. I once tried a local language on Windows. The translation was not as good as I expected. I moved back to English in a day or so.

It is not just the translation that will help you, quality of translation also matters.
 
P

phenomlab

Valued Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
788
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
2,172
@admin this is where Google translate often falls down.
 
Empre

Empre

Valued Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
AB$
106
I usually just look for the pop up that says “The page is in (insert language), Would You like Google to Translate it for you. I click yes, then read the page

Then expecting google to not do it right and fail :p
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Similar threads

Abhi
Replies
5
Views
768
Jason
J
Top